Page 1 of 1

[fixed: 98] Opening FLAC files from Explorer does not work

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 2:23 am
by dredd
Looks like Xion has a problem with FLAC files given as a parameter. If it's called with such (for example by double clicking a file in Explorer) nothing happens, i. e. Xion starts but doesn't even load the file, if another file is being played it continues playing. If you drop the FLAC file on the player or into the playlist it works.

It works for me with other formats (at least mp3 and ogg, I haven't tested others) and I've reproduced this behaviour with different files on different machines, so I think it's a program error ...

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 3:44 am
by SLoB
have you looked at the associate file types in the config?

depending on wot other media apps u use it might need to be set to xion, so try the above

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 4:17 am
by dredd
I know, this looks like noob trouble ;) But the file type association is not the problem. Actually there's no difference if FLAC files are associated or not. The problem is, that for some reason Xion does not play the FLAC file its executable gets as a parameter when it is called. If you run

Code: Select All Code
xion.exe "path\to\the\file.flac"


it will start if not running, but it won't play the file, neither load it.

All that file type association does is running xion.exe with the file as a parameter. But as Xion fails to handle that, shell integration with FLACs doesn't work. The same with right click -> open with Xion, right click -> enqueue file in Xion, etc:

Code: Select All Code
xion.exe /enqueue "path\to\the\file.mp3"   <- working
xion.exe /enqueue "path\to\the\file.flac"  <- not working

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 4:45 am
by SLoB
is this with the latest beta build 97 or with 95?

Cliff has fixed some things with files loading (but this specific issue might still be a bug)

best to check the beta forum section and try build 97

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 4:55 am
by dredd
Already tried it, no difference ... :(

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 9:10 am
by Cliff Cawley
Thanks for reporting this one, dredd!

I've fixed this for build 98, thanks to your report!

Cliff :)

PostPosted: April 5th, 2008, 6:26 pm
by dredd
Thanks Cliff, works great!

Was this FLAC specific or might other formats be affected as well?

PostPosted: April 6th, 2008, 9:53 am
by Cliff Cawley
dredd Wrote:Thanks Cliff, works great!

Was this FLAC specific or might other formats be affected as well?


It was file extension size specific ;)

I.e. when checking the supported file formats, I was quickly checking the last 4 characters, in this case, it was FLAC, instead of the expected .FLAC

So pretty much any file format that used more than 3 characters would not get loaded and any using less than 3 as well!

Anyway, I've fixed up the code to properly detect the file extension now :)

Cliff :)

PostPosted: April 6th, 2008, 7:22 pm
by SLoB
heheh Cliff ;) naught naughty ;)

PostPosted: April 6th, 2008, 7:36 pm
by Cliff Cawley
SLoB Wrote:heheh Cliff ;) naught naughty ;)


Yeah yeah, I think it started out as a test and then propagated from there, each time telling myself I need to fix that, then forgetting about it :D

Cliff :)

PostPosted: April 6th, 2008, 8:45 pm
by SLoB
possibly one thing that might be lacking i think is peer code reviews, in a dev testing way not derogatory way

whereby code changes/fixes are reviewed and tested by another member of the dev team prior to it going to QA
this has the benefit of cross training devs in other areas of the system and also benefiting the team building a better product as mistakes or not so great code can be improved before it even hits the shelves so to speak
it also helps raise the level of development from the team

PostPosted: April 6th, 2008, 11:43 pm
by Cliff Cawley
SLoB Wrote:possibly one thing that might be lacking i think is peer code reviews, in a dev testing way not derogatory way

whereby code changes/fixes are reviewed and tested by another member of the dev team prior to it going to QA
this has the benefit of cross training devs in other areas of the system and also benefiting the team building a better product as mistakes or not so great code can be improved before it even hits the shelves so to speak
it also helps raise the level of development from the team


Yeah, I totally agree. I'll just clone myself so I can review my work, since my dev team size is a total of umm.. ONE. Myself :lol:

Cliff :)

PostPosted: April 7th, 2008, 5:56 am
by SLoB
i kno thats why i said it was lacking lol ;)

well u can always run code by me if u like as a second look, im pretty good at troubleshooting stuff, i always get my bug(s) lol, well 99.9% of the time, its in software's nature to be buggy innit lol, keeps ya in a job ;)