Xion Audio Player

playlist ??

General Discussion about Xion Audio Player

Postby Cliff Cawley » April 29th, 2008, 9:59 pm

jinxjx Wrote:ok, when i bring up the simple playlist, there is nothing in it. i have to open the main station list, then click on a saved play list from there, then click open, which puts it in the simple playlist. if i want to listen to a different station i have to repeat that step. for me the simple playlist doesn't save anything, correct? for example, when i close out the simple playlist, then bring it back up, it is empty. i have to repeat that same process over again. i already have saved my own stations, which are in the main stations folder[list]. do you follow me?..... :) .....thanks


Hmm, the only thing that comes to mind is, are you running as a Limited user without access to the Xion install directory? The playlist, if you save it or not, is saved to the Xion.m3u file in the Xion directory.

Perhaps it doesn't have access to write?

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby jinxjx » April 29th, 2008, 11:58 pm

ok, the simple librarylist has the stations in it. but with the simple playlist it always only has 1 station in it at a time. its always the last station played or the current one being played. the main station folder [playlist] is fine. its just that the simple playlist, it won't hold different stations, only one station at a time....thanks...... :?.....screenshot


[url][url=http://img292.imageshack.us/my.php?image=xionfs9.jpg][img=http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/1977/xionfs9.th.jpg][/url][/url]
jinxjx
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: April 26th, 2008, 1:59 pm

Postby Cliff Cawley » April 30th, 2008, 7:22 am

jinxjx Wrote:ok, the simple librarylist has the stations in it. but with the simple playlist it always only has 1 station in it at a time. its always the last station played or the current one being played. the main station folder [playlist] is fine. its just that the simple playlist, it won't hold different stations, only one station at a time....thanks...... :?.....screenshot


[url][url=http://img292.imageshack.us/my.php?image=xionfs9.jpg][img=http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/1977/xionfs9.th.jpg][/url][/url]


If you're double clicking the playlists in the Library, then yes that's correct. Double clicking a playlist in the library, will clear the current playlist and load the playlist you just double clicked.

If there is only one entry in the playlist, then that's why you are seeing a single entry. Are you able to upload the playlist for one of the stations you are looking at? Most likely it just has one entry.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby jinxjx » April 30th, 2008, 7:43 am

well, when i load a saved playlist from the main stations folder, then click open, it puts that in the simple playlist but it takes the current entry out and only shows the new entry i just put in. it only holds the current station and no others.it doesn't hold a list of multiple different stations. i don't get it.........thanks...screenshot

[url][url=http://img168.imageshack.us/my.php?image=xionhb8.jpg][img=http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/9210/xionhb8.th.jpg][/url][/url]
jinxjx
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: April 26th, 2008, 1:59 pm

Postby SLoB » April 30th, 2008, 9:25 am

a simple way to create multiple stations for a playlist is to save the station as a playlist file m3u, copy the entry(s) and paste them into a single playlist, you only need the top #EXTM3U keyword in the playlist then the rest of the entries can be like so

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0,Chris Brown - Wall To Wall (1.FM - Top 40)
http://64.62.252.132:8075
#EXTINF:0,HANDEL - Maurice Steger, recorder - Recorder Sonata in F major, Op.1/11, HWV 369 No 11 in F major (1.FM - Otto
http://38.99.68.236:8045

thats just an example, if that is saved as an m3u playlist file then you can put whichever stations you like and it will show as a full playlist of radio stations

Cliff might want to make it so its easier to create multiple radio station playlists, but the simplest way is to save the url of the station into a playlist by adding url, then you can save as many as you want, then just call the playlist up when you want to choose a station

I think with the new playlist, library that will come out as and when it is done or even looked at then lots of options will be up for discussion, from the looks of it, a sqllite db will be used as storage so it should be possible to even grab xml feeds and populate the db with playlists of multiple musical media formats (no vid)

its not possible to create a library station like that tho without some other formatting, so the playlist is the only real option
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby jinxjx » April 30th, 2008, 9:58 am

i must have a screwed up xion. theres no way to save anything to the simple playlist. when ever i put a different station into the simple playlist,it takes the current one out and only one station is there. i can save any station i want to the main station list . i can't save multiple stations in the simple playlist, can't be done, atleast not on my install of xion. i do have a playlist of my stations but they are not and can't be saved into the simple playlist........thanks
jinxjx
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: April 26th, 2008, 1:59 pm

Postby Cliff Cawley » April 30th, 2008, 6:15 pm

jinxjx Wrote:i must have a screwed up xion. theres no way to save anything to the simple playlist. when ever i put a different station into the simple playlist,it takes the current one out and only one station is there. i can save any station i want to the main station list . i can't save multiple stations in the simple playlist, can't be done, atleast not on my install of xion. i do have a playlist of my stations but they are not and can't be saved into the simple playlist........thanks


I think this is a misunderstading, not a broken Xion build. I think you're trying to APPEND a playlist you are opening. Currently, opening a playlist from the library means just that. Closing the existing playlist and opening the new one.

Here's what you can do instead, which is easier than what SLoB suggested:

1) Browse in Explorer or My Computer to the location you installed Xion to. By default this is C:\Program Files\r2 Studios\Xion

2) Look for the Playlists or Radio Stations folder and open it

3) Drag and drop the file you want, onto the large white space on the playlist. This will add the contents of the playlist and APPEND all entries to the end of the list.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby jinxjx » May 1st, 2008, 12:15 am

ok, that did it. because at the simple playlist, i would bring up the main stations list through the "file" then click "load playlist". it didn't work that way. i'm glad a have thick hair because most of it has been pulled out !..... :lol: :lol: ..i'm glad i understand that now ! :lol: ....thank you very much everybody !!! :D :D
jinxjx
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: April 26th, 2008, 1:59 pm
Previous

Return to General Xion Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest