Xion Audio Player

Mixing Capabilities

Skinning Questions, Suggestions and Ideas

Postby xonenine » December 16th, 2009, 6:16 am

With the SUI development, will there be any way to have a mixer/DJ type skin, like Virtual DJ?In other words, have multiple instances of Xion running.

I'm sure it will be easier to simulate one, I was just wondering about the possibilities of a real one... :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby Cliff Cawley » December 16th, 2009, 9:08 am

No there will still be a single instance, just the ability to skin multiple canvases.

If you're after launching multiple Xion instances for some manual mixing, you can use the secret command line option " /multiinstance "

In order to use, you add that switch to your Xion shortcut. So for example, the target field changes to:

"C:\Program Files\r2 Studios\Xion\Xion.exe" /multiinstance

This will mean that every time you launch Xion, a new instance will spawn, ignoring the existing one.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby xonenine » December 16th, 2009, 9:35 am

WOW What an awesome thing to learn.Thanks! :D

Edit I will have to find/make a nice lotus elise skin w the Xion logo for Xmas...
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby djinn2 » December 16th, 2009, 12:08 pm

It was fun having multiple db1011s and drd17s on my desktop :D I gave each a playlist with some sound effects to play. Took me around 10 seconds to get bored with it #-o

Any other hidden commands Cliff?
djinn2
Xion Admirer
 
Posts: 203
Joined: October 4th, 2006, 11:47 am
Location: UK

Postby xonenine » December 16th, 2009, 12:35 pm

That's certainly the first thing I thought of, hehe, skins fighting on the desktop.I suppose this could be extremely valuable for comparing skin ideas...

and I was happy to have found an Elise... :) I will try and make it worthy of Xion.
Image
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby Cliff Cawley » December 16th, 2009, 1:10 pm

djinn2 wrote:It was fun having multiple db1011s and drd17s on my desktop :D I gave each a playlist with some sound effects to play. Took me around 10 seconds to get bored with it #-o

Any other hidden commands Cliff?


There are some others but they're related to registrations, installation and other things. Nothing that you can play with like this.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » December 16th, 2009, 11:38 pm

"C:\Program Files\r2 Studios\Xion\Xion.exe" /pleasemakeacupoftea :)
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby xonenine » December 17th, 2009, 12:22 am

I must have played Carmaggedon 2 way too much, 'cause I'm ready to believe it... :lol:
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby OfficerMike07 » January 10th, 2010, 4:02 pm

Step 1: install virtual machine

Step 2: install Xion in virtual machine

Step 3: enjoy listening to two Xions at once!
____________________________________

On a related note... when going through folders of music in Windows 7, you can preview selected songs from the Windows Media Player controls in the preview pane (Alt+P)... you can play one song in each window you have open all at the same time. It's madness I tell you!
User avatar
OfficerMike07
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 252
Joined: January 22nd, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: A house, Lakeland, Florida, United States, North America, Earth, Milky Way

Postby xonenine » January 10th, 2010, 10:29 pm

i guess i could make them all chorus, "So say we all" :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby xonenine » February 20th, 2010, 12:48 am

Could multi-instance be turned into a script/plugin to make it accessible for skinning some dual decks?The end result (wishfully) would be the ability to add a button to the skin which calls the second instance.

Even if they have to be snapped together, it would be awesome to use... :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Return to General Skin Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron