Xion Audio Player

move a layer from a slider control???

Skinning Questions, Suggestions and Ideas

Postby Azvareth » January 23rd, 2011, 3:12 am

Hi!

I am trying to create some kind of balance control, my idea was to create a knob that would move in a half circle... I have not yet found that it is possible so I was trying to "fake" the behaviour...

I provide an image link as it is hard to explain with my bad English
Image

the yellow part (prototyping)
the square is a background
the half cirkle is a balancelr
the black line below half cirkle is a sliderbit_normal

The yellow part represent the lower half of the volume pot at right of display... [open image to see full, forum cuts it]
The idea was to make a hole where the sliderbit_normal would be visible, faking a balance marker (could work if the hole is thin enough). Problem: the sliderbit_normal center on balancelr so it sticks out on top and bottom. I thought of fixing it by using a link(layer_id) thing... I created the black line and made a link from balancelr as I thougt, if I move the slider, I also move the layer_id... It did not...

So? my question is: how do I link and move a second layer from balancelr? is it possible?
Peace love and understanding... To all, but...
User avatar
Azvareth
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 6:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby xonenine » January 23rd, 2011, 9:00 am

Linked Animation
Here's an example of how it works pulled from the valve skin.I have made the volume bar it controls visible, normally it would be set at 2 to 4% transparency.

Image

downloadable example:
http://www.4shared.com/photo/XZVgXRp1/revolve.html

another variation of a linked animation is in tips/tricks forum section, a linked slider.
Enjoy your skinning, Carmine. :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby SLoB » January 24th, 2011, 3:42 am

Or instead of these hacks we could have a rotational control layer (for lots of things, not just volume)? (like was in the feature requests a few years ago ;) )
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Azvareth » January 24th, 2011, 11:29 pm

[late edit]
It works, I needed to RTFM more first, after that i changed the
anim set to
id(xx) animation animtype(8) passthrough link(x)
then it worked...

Thank you very much!

@xonenine

It works with volume, but it does not seems to work with balance sliders...

I named the control layer:

animframebt balancelr link(x)

cloning your example... the slider itself moves but does not affect the "animation"

renaiming it to animframebt volumelr link(x)

allows my volume / balance pot to "animate"

So I thank you for your example, but it seems like I have to fake it wit some kind of hole
in a layer over the slider itself...

However I could use the example to the volume control itself...

@SLoB
I am new here but: If it have not been implemented yet, it might take a while before it will... So one need to find other ways...
Peace love and understanding... To all, but...
User avatar
Azvareth
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 6:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby xonenine » January 25th, 2011, 4:47 am

Glad it was of some use, anyway, Azvareth. :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby Azvareth » January 25th, 2011, 11:21 pm

You were really helpful... thank you.

However I still have a problem, it is related to this question somehow so I file it here...

I got the volume and balance working, the outer ring is the balance part and the inner pot is volume... See img.
Image [open pic, forum cut's it again]

Now to the real problem... As I thought this was an "easy" way out, I thought of implement the same technique on the bass and treble controller as well, I need to operate on two bands at the same time (it is more realistic compared to the hardware) but seems to be impossible to do as well, so I prepared to use two controllers as volume balance part is done but with freq bands.

I cant find any animetype representing any single band, there is bas,mid and treblevol, but implementing these start the skin where the controller's moves to the volume peak...

Yes! this time I have "read the f* manual", and can't find any solution, thus I am asking here again in case there is a solution for the problem that I have missed.... If there is none, I use my existing Bass / Treble solution with some slightly changes....
Peace love and understanding... To all, but...
User avatar
Azvareth
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: January 22nd, 2011, 6:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby xonenine » January 26th, 2011, 12:03 am

Here's a good starting point.The EQ Base Layers are available here:

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1753

I posted just the EQ from the scattering II, (which I still need to make a Corona animation for)for basic reference, and for others who read the thread, I realize you already know the basics of it.

I would try linking the eq bands and sliderbits you want to be together, (another example I haven't tried yet, sorry).There are so many tricks you can do w the code, I cannot always say for certain what workarounds might work, Carmine. :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 870
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Return to General Skin Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron