Xion Audio Player

[added: 118] Repeat Button Suggestion

Feature Requests and Ideas

Postby Lance » January 14th, 2009, 12:36 pm

Hey Cliff.

Nothing important here but just an idea. I know there's an option in the Xion settings to repeat the whole playlist or just the track, but it's a bit tedious having to do that each time you change your mind. So how about having a right click option on the repeat button itself with the option to change it there and then.

Peace, Lance
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby Cliff Cawley » January 14th, 2009, 2:19 pm

Lance Wrote:I know there's an option in the Xion settings to repeat the whole playlist or just the track,


There is? Hmm, I don't remember adding that...

Lance Wrote:but it's a bit tedious having to do that each time you change your mind. So how about having a right click option on the repeat button itself with the option to change it there and then.


When I do make multiple repeat mode, I'll look at providing this :)

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Lance » January 14th, 2009, 2:32 pm

What the fuu.....

Dude I swear...I saw it. I even changed it a couple times. There was 2 checkboxes with the option to either repeat a single track in the playlist or the playlist as a whole. I saw it! :shock: Maybe it's in the playlist menu or something.

I just checked and I can't find it. This is driving me crazy now. I freaking SAW it and USED it.

.............

Peace, Lance
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby logokas » January 14th, 2009, 3:12 pm

Hallucinations, Lance. Xion has never had this feature as far as i know. I always resorted to clearing up the playlist to play one specific track at a time.

It would be nice, though. But changing it should be more streamlined than a right click menu.
I shoot and ask questions later.

Take no offense of it.
User avatar
logokas
Xion Addict
 
Posts: 668
Joined: February 25th, 2008, 8:44 am
Location: Estonia

Postby SLoB » January 14th, 2009, 7:31 pm

hahah, having used Xion the last few days I've found not having track repeat quite annoying, I'm listening to Neil Zaza atm and his tracks just rock, I was wanting to listen to a few tracks on repeat and was frustrated this functionality is still not in :(

I know its on the list Cliff but it should make the next release so it can be a big tick on the added functionality and as you can see would be of benefit to its users ;)
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » January 14th, 2009, 11:56 pm

SLoB Wrote:I know its on the list Cliff but it should make the next release so it can be a big tick on the added functionality and as you can see would be of benefit to its users ;)


Yes, however I'm trying to decide how it will be supported on the skin side. Currently its just an indicator for repeat on or off. If I add a new one now, skins that rely on the two states to show a light on/off will fail.

I'll most likely go that way, however I'll think about it some more.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby logokas » January 15th, 2009, 10:03 am

Add a third state and make it default to the 'on' visual if there is no indicator to show 'repeat one'. That should retain compatibility with old skins and provide necessary function to work with more advanced ones.
I shoot and ask questions later.

Take no offense of it.
User avatar
logokas
Xion Addict
 
Posts: 668
Joined: February 25th, 2008, 8:44 am
Location: Estonia

Postby Jikaru » February 7th, 2009, 1:58 pm

I think the repeat playlist/repeat track/random buttons should be toggle but i also think they should react off of eachother, for instance repeatplaylist and repeat track should toggle between eachother and off completely, click once you get repeat track, click again you get repeat playlist and click again none or random, cause if random is on your not listening to one song and theres no need for repeat playlist if your listening to each song randomly with a chance for repeats. I like the setup of the play/pause/stop capabilities. layer names would be like indications: indi_rnone, indi_rpl, indi_rtra(ck) and a normal, over, down, states as well. in total

rpl_normal,over,down
rtrack_normal,over,down
rnone_normal,over,down
indi_rnone,rpl,rtrack

I think that would do it, if you were to implement this...
User avatar
Jikaru
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 306
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Postby Cliff Cawley » February 7th, 2009, 11:50 pm

Jikaru Wrote:I think the repeat playlist/repeat track/random buttons should be toggle but i also think they should react off of eachother, for instance repeatplaylist and repeat track should toggle between eachother and off completely, click once you get repeat track, click again you get repeat playlist and click again none or random, cause if random is on your not listening to one song and theres no need for repeat playlist if your listening to each song randomly with a chance for repeats.


Random will never play repeats. Random remembers previously played tracks, until the entire playlist has been played. As soon as the last song is played, it is reset and randomized again. This is to ensure you don't end up hearing the same song multiple times, until its played every song, randomly.

In this way, Repeat and Random as separate is completely justified as you can play the entire playlist randomly and not repeat it.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Jikaru » February 8th, 2009, 3:46 am

oh i forgot to add
rndm_normal,over,down
indi_rndm (i think the indicaters are already put in but I think there should be a set of indicaters for when they are not on. I had to achieve this by hiding the original layer instead of having an indicater to show it wasn't on. not that big of a deal i just ran into this problem cause I thought it would be more like the play/pause/stop method.)

I understand keeping them seperate but if someone wanted to make a button transition through the three they couldn't or it would be a complication of all the buttons modifying eachother.
User avatar
Jikaru
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 306
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Postby Cliff Cawley » July 1st, 2009, 11:46 pm

I've added this for build 118.

Repeat button now toggles between Repeat Playlist, Repeat Track and Repeat Off.

I've also added an indicator for Repeat Track called 'indi_repeattrack' or 'indi_repeattrk'

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest