Xion Audio Player

Layer Blending

Feature Requests and Ideas

Postby REDstyler » September 13th, 2009, 11:16 pm

A lot of my skinning for most things uses different blending for layers, such as Overlay, Multiply etc.

I think it would really be nice if Xion recognized those. =)
Michael Rockett
http://www.inniosoft.co.cc/devstation
rock0.deviantart.com
mikerockett.wincustomize.com
[email protected]
User avatar
REDstyler
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 13
Joined: July 15th, 2007, 7:34 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Postby Cliff Cawley » September 14th, 2009, 12:18 am

REDstyler Wrote:A lot of my skinning for most things uses different blending for layers, such as Overlay, Multiply etc.

I think it would really be nice if Xion recognized those. =)


I will be able to emulate some of these in Xion. One of the reasons I haven't implemented these yet, is because I use Software rendering to render the Interface in Xion and I didn't want to slow it down too much.

I was hoping to switch to using Hardware rendering in the future (DirectX) and then these shouldn't be a problem at all.

I'll see what I can do

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby REDstyler » September 14th, 2009, 7:13 am

I see what you mean, I'm sure it'll work out, especially with the new Direct2D system that a lot of programming languages are implementing.

I've actually been trying to get my head around how to implement windows like Xion. I am (attempting) to learn how to let my window become alpha blended with the use of PNG images (Layered Windows), but I can't seem to get controls on the window.

But nevermind that: I wish I could implement layering like you do for Xion.

=)
Michael Rockett
http://www.inniosoft.co.cc/devstation
rock0.deviantart.com
mikerockett.wincustomize.com
[email protected]
User avatar
REDstyler
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 13
Joined: July 15th, 2007, 7:34 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Postby logokas » September 14th, 2009, 7:37 pm

For now you can rasterize blended layers to get the desired effect. It really should continue to work like that, since adding blending emulation puts alot of load on the player.
I shoot and ask questions later.

Take no offense of it.
User avatar
logokas
Xion Addict
 
Posts: 668
Joined: February 25th, 2008, 8:44 am
Location: Estonia

Postby REDstyler » September 16th, 2009, 2:24 am

Yup - I already so that, and it works well, it just becomes a mission to edit. But nevertheless, I think that Xion should be as lightweight as possible. Thanks for replying =)
Michael Rockett
http://www.inniosoft.co.cc/devstation
rock0.deviantart.com
mikerockett.wincustomize.com
[email protected]
User avatar
REDstyler
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 13
Joined: July 15th, 2007, 7:34 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron