Xion Audio Player

Show indi_pause when indi_stop not present

Feature Requests and Ideas

Postby OfficerMike07 » December 14th, 2009, 6:05 am

Seeing as how some skins use indi_pause on their play buttons I feel it would be nice if Xion showed these layers when Xion was stopped as well, should the skin not have any indi_stop layers.

For example, open http://xion.r2.com.au/index.php?page=skins&id=683 and stop Xion. The play/pause button becomes just a plain button with no pause or play graphic on it, though it's pretty obvious what it does.
User avatar
OfficerMike07
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 252
Joined: January 22nd, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: A house, Lakeland, Florida, United States, North America, Earth, Milky Way

Postby Cliff Cawley » December 14th, 2009, 1:02 pm

This would cause problems for skins that did it the right way. Which is to provide a layer that used 'indi_stop' correctly.

Its much better if the skin author were to fix these issues themselves.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby OfficerMike07 » December 14th, 2009, 2:46 pm

I realize that, which is why my suggestion was along the lines of:

If indi_stop exists
do it the old way
Else
show indi_paused when stopped

Just some sample pseudocode, as I'm no experienced code monkey. Still not doable?
User avatar
OfficerMike07
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 252
Joined: January 22nd, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: A house, Lakeland, Florida, United States, North America, Earth, Milky Way

Postby Cliff Cawley » December 14th, 2009, 6:56 pm

OfficerMike07 Wrote:I realize that, which is why my suggestion was along the lines of:

If indi_stop exists
do it the old way
Else
show indi_paused when stopped

Just some sample pseudocode, as I'm no experienced code monkey. Still not doable?


Well it means that it still changes the functionality. For skins that have a stop button underneath all the other buttons (that didn't use the indi_stop), it means that their indi_pause button now shows when the player is stopped. So now, while I've fixed one skin that has this issue, I've broken another skin that was relying on indi_pause and indi_play to be hidden and to show the layers underneath.

So no, not doable as it introduces issues the other way :)

The "Zune Tool Bars" skin needs to either add a stop button below all the other buttons, add an indi_stop keyword to their pause button, or add a stop button with indi_stop.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby OfficerMike07 » December 15th, 2009, 5:14 am

Ahhh... okay!
User avatar
OfficerMike07
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 252
Joined: January 22nd, 2007, 12:36 pm
Location: A house, Lakeland, Florida, United States, North America, Earth, Milky Way

Postby xonenine » December 15th, 2009, 5:53 am

We should have a .psd layer template with all the standard buttons and indi states represented in a fairly logical order- all left blank.

It doesn't even have to be a skin or need buttons, all blank.

The user/person learning would then see the correct structure, then use or not use the applicable buttons where needed. :)

Also in essence a person could open it in Photoshop, and just start filling it with skin elements.

Call it "The Xion Skin Creation Pack" or something...color code it, include a read me or not.

Although it could never possibly suit every individual need, there would be a big decrease in the number of standard questions asked also...

Edit: BTW, not made by someone like me whose layers are so incestuoustly twisted that they can't hardly go in folders... :lol:
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 873
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby Vinnie84 » December 15th, 2009, 1:40 pm

OR something simpler would be to make a "tutorial's and examples" section in the skins filter... that way people could upload examples of button toggles, sliders and many many more things :D cliff has enough on his plate...so... doing it this way would be very easy and we could all upload examples and also show different ways we all accomplish certain features
User avatar
Vinnie84
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 75
Joined: September 28th, 2009, 1:30 pm
Location: Australia

Postby xonenine » December 17th, 2009, 12:17 pm

Well, in skin resources templates are mentioned in the description of the catagory.The simplest thing to do will be to add a few templates there, and no doubt a few people will use them... :)
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 873
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron