Xion Audio Player

[added: 118] repeat to be 3 state?

Feature Requests and Ideas

Postby SLoB » December 13th, 2006, 7:20 pm

Dear Cliff
Please can you fix it for us sad gits who like to listen to particular songs on repeat ;)

Repeat to be 3 state + an indi layer for track
Off(current), All(current) & Track(new)

thanks
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby HyperCannon » December 14th, 2006, 3:25 pm

I second this lol
User avatar
HyperCannon
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 79
Joined: October 22nd, 2006, 6:53 am
Location: New Zealand

Postby UnseenRage » February 11th, 2007, 4:43 am

Cliff, are you considering making this feature, kind of like you did the stop button?
User avatar
UnseenRage
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 65
Joined: September 29th, 2006, 6:03 pm
Location: Texas

Postby SLoB » May 16th, 2007, 10:12 pm

bump ;)
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » July 1st, 2009, 11:45 pm

I've added this for build 118.

Repeat button now toggles between Repeat Playlist, Repeat Track and Repeat Off.

I've also added an indicator for Repeat Track called 'indi_repeattrack' or 'indi_repeattrk'

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » July 2nd, 2009, 1:48 am

yay an oldie but a goodie :) nice :) Thanks Cliff :)
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Lance » July 2nd, 2009, 2:37 am

Sweet man thanks for this! :D

However...I'm a little concerned to what this will do to the thousands of users of older skins without the 3 indicators involved. That's why I suggested leaving the current button as it is with just 2 states for Off and rpt Track and have the rpt PL option on the PL itself. If the current repeat button suddenly has 3 states, all skins before this point will disfunction and confuse everybody.

That said, I would much prefer it all on a single 3 state button, but I'm just thinking about the compatability. But I guess all things have to upgrade at some point so screw it, have 3 :)

If the new public build is marketed as "Xion 2" and not just an update, it will attract more downloads and hopefuly more skin author updates so we have less problems :)

Peace, Lance
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby SLoB » July 2nd, 2009, 3:11 am

Here's how I see the new tristate button working with older skins to avoid any compatibility issues.

1. If old skin and does not have any repeat icons = no change
2. If old skin and does have 1 or 2 repeat icons only = then no change on repeat track icon (ie the track icon uses the repeat playlist icon as a fallback)
3. new skin should have all 3, if not falls back to 2 then 1

Ok 2. is not ideal, however, I would also have thought the status would be changed in the songticker i.e. Repeat: Track, Repeat: Playlist, Repeat: Off

Tell us this is what is implemented (or not ;) ) Cliff :?:
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » July 2nd, 2009, 8:12 am

This next release won't be Xion 2.0.

I didn't separate this into two separate commands, I wanted it all as one.

I was coming up with all kinds of ideas to support it backwards, but its overkill. I'm NOT allowing a skin to change functionality. That's even more confusing. 'When I use skin X I can only get repeat to repeat playlist or be off, but when I use skin Y, I can get all 3 options, WTF?!?!?'

Here's how it works:

There is only one button still. The repeat button. Its just a toggle now. Most skins use just a button so this breaks NO functionality.

The ONLY thing that's changed is there is a new indicator. A LOT of skins don't even use indicators so this shouldn't be too big a problem.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Jikaru » July 3rd, 2009, 4:32 am

My XSe7en skin will be broken if this is the case.

But I would be willing to change it.

So should everyone else, so I'm with Cliff on this one. It's not a hard fix to imply if your skin is broken by this.
User avatar
Jikaru
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 306
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests