Xion Audio Player

Xion 1.0 build 109 Beta Release

Beta Builds of Xion. These are builds that are not quite ready for Release, but need feedback and bug submissions in order to move it to Release Status

Postby Jikaru » March 5th, 2009, 3:18 pm

about that album art thing, you should have a tight restriction on what the album art should be named, mostly because what if the right one was named jrfogih3493497.jpg and it chooses the wrong album art for the song, like djhf384965.jpg? then it displays wrong, so I think the album and albumart.* should be named appropriatly. right?
User avatar
Jikaru
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 306
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Postby ALAS » March 6th, 2009, 1:46 am

I don´t think it should be restricted. Most common is to name it folder.jpg but lots of people name it artwork, coverart, album, cover etc. so what should xion choose then?
User avatar
ALAS
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 256
Joined: March 12th, 2007, 3:26 am

Postby WinstonGFX » March 6th, 2009, 7:03 am

I use "front.jpg"
User avatar
WinstonGFX
Xion Admirer
 
Posts: 161
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 6:47 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA and New Jersey

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 6th, 2009, 5:13 pm

Don't forget that WMP names it a GUID.JPG. So 92835982459siuh5kjhsdf.JPG is not uncommon :)

Anyway, its a non-issue, I've tested several other Audio apps and they do the same as Xion.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 11th, 2009, 1:43 am

Xion now has full support for a skinnable playlist!

Features to look for in the screenshot below:

  • Resizeable Skinned Playlist
  • Full Alpha transparency support on a resizeable window
  • Skinnable Playlist Scrollbar


Image

This will all be available in beta build 110, which I'm hoping to release soon.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Lance » March 11th, 2009, 3:35 am

Cliff mate, you're an absolute star! Thanks so much for your hard work. I can't wait for build 110 :D I think I may hold off on my new skin until Playlist skinning is made public. When do you think the public release will be? I'm itching to get this new skin out but I'd rather have it fully featured you know?

Peace, Lance
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby Jikaru » March 11th, 2009, 4:36 am

same with me Lance. I have a new skin that i've been playing with recently but I(m not releasing even an alpha version untill at least a stable release candidate. oh and cliff, check the suggestions again I have one you might be able to implement easily for 110 :D
User avatar
Jikaru
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 306
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Postby logokas » March 11th, 2009, 8:17 am

Fancy that. All we need now are cool alpha tricks like blur, to really crank in that glass feel!
I shoot and ask questions later.

Take no offense of it.
User avatar
logokas
Xion Addict
 
Posts: 668
Joined: February 25th, 2008, 8:44 am
Location: Estonia

Postby Lance » March 11th, 2009, 10:48 am

Am I right in believing you still can't place semi-transparent layers ABOVE the actual playlist text, for highlights and reflections etc? I tried that and it didn't work, just wondered if you'd found a solution for that now that you've implemented transparency for it.

Peace, Lance
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 11th, 2009, 7:17 pm

Lance Wrote:Am I right in believing you still can't place semi-transparent layers ABOVE the actual playlist text, for highlights and reflections etc? I tried that and it didn't work, just wondered if you'd found a solution for that now that you've implemented transparency for it.

Peace, Lance


Actually, that is now less of an issue, however in the current code it will still draw the playlist over the top. I still have some clean up work to do with the playlist before I can release it for 110, so I'll look at fixing this issue as well.

Essentially, due to the changes I've made, it should now be very possible to have all kinds of things, including highlights, reflections or vines and rubbish covering your playlist text :P

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 11th, 2009, 7:22 pm

Lance Wrote:Cliff mate, you're an absolute star! Thanks so much for your hard work. I can't wait for build 110 :D I think I may hold off on my new skin until Playlist skinning is made public. When do you think the public release will be?


Cheers Lance!

I'm not 100% sure when the public will be. Essentially I'll stop adding features/fixes soon and it should stabilise the build. Once its stable, I'll release it publicly.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 12th, 2009, 6:43 pm

Lance Wrote:Am I right in believing you still can't place semi-transparent layers ABOVE the actual playlist text, for highlights and reflections etc? I tried that and it didn't work, just wondered if you'd found a solution for that now that you've implemented transparency for it.

Peace, Lance


And I can now confidently say YES. You can now have layers above the playlist! It'll be available in build 110.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Lance » March 12th, 2009, 10:59 pm

Cliff Cawley Wrote:
Lance Wrote:Am I right in believing you still can't place semi-transparent layers ABOVE the actual playlist text, for highlights and reflections etc? I tried that and it didn't work, just wondered if you'd found a solution for that now that you've implemented transparency for it.

Peace, Lance


And I can now confidently say YES. You can now have layers above the playlist! It'll be available in build 110.

Cliff :)


:shock:

*dies*
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby Jikaru » March 16th, 2009, 9:42 am

Cliff I have this issue I noticed with Xion in 109 not sure if its in previous versions but it more than likely is and probably has been stated before but here it is: Here's a screeny of the layer setup:
Image

Now, what happens is when I reload the skin with either random or repeat on is that both the aclashow and aclahide layers are shown for either button...but whats weird is it only happens when random or repeat are on or in other words the lower layer is hidden. But then continues to work fine after clicking the button it gets back to the way its supposed to work. But if random or repeat are off then both layers aren't shown, but that's not the way its supposed to work according to the layers so...something is in fact in need of fixing...somewhere...
User avatar
Jikaru
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 306
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 1:56 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 16th, 2009, 1:35 pm

Jikaru Wrote:Cliff I have this issue I noticed with Xion in 109 not sure if its in previous versions but it more than likely is and probably has been stated before but here it is: Here's a screeny of the layer setup:
Image

Now, what happens is when I reload the skin with either random or repeat on is that both the aclashow and aclahide layers are shown for either button...but whats weird is it only happens when random or repeat are on or in other words the lower layer is hidden. But then continues to work fine after clicking the button it gets back to the way its supposed to work. But if random or repeat are off then both layers aren't shown, but that's not the way its supposed to work according to the layers so...something is in fact in need of fixing...somewhere...


Can you send me your skin so that I can test it? Use the Contact page, thanks :)

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Previous

Return to Beta Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron