Xion Audio Player

Xion 1.0 build 79 Beta Release

Beta Builds of Xion. These are builds that are not quite ready for Release, but need feedback and bug submissions in order to move it to Release Status

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 22nd, 2007, 11:19 pm

WARNING:
This is a Beta Build. That means it has fixes and features that are NEW. It is also possible it has bugs that are NEW! If you are looking for stability, please don't expect this build to be perfectly stable. It may have issues. If on the other hand you are happy to try this build out and post any bugs back in this thread, then please do!

Download Installer Version:
r2 Studios Server -> http://www.r2.com.au/downloads/files/beta/qa-xion_v1.0b79.exe
OR
Xion Server -> http://xion.r2.com.au/download/beta/qa-xion_v1.0b79.exe

Download Portable Device Version:
r2 Studios Server -> http://www.r2.com.au/downloads/files/beta/qa-xion_v1.0b79.zip
OR
Xion Server -> http://xion.r2.com.au/download/beta/qa-xion_v1.0b79.zip

Changelist:
  • Fix the skin bounding rectangle calculation so that it correctly creates the bounding rectangle for a skin when a skin changes
  • Add new layer type 'snaprectangle' which allows you to specify regions that will get used for screen snapping

If you find bugs specifically related to this build, please post them here instead of the Bug reporting forum. Any feedback positive or negative should also go in here, no new threads. This way all feedback, etc related to this build will be in the one place.

Just a minor update to add the snaprectangle layer. This adds not only nicer screen snapping but also optimizes your skin as Xion doesn't have to calculate it for you! For more information about this new layer type, see the skinning thread ;)

Enjoy!

Cliff :)
Last edited by Cliff Cawley on January 11th, 2008, 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » March 22nd, 2007, 11:29 pm

N1 Cliff
Fix the skin bounding rectangle calculation so that it correctly creates the bounding rectangle for a skin when a skin changes

i was going to ask about that at some point as when u do change a skin it doesnt automagically snap itself if the changed skin happens to overlap the viewport

still getting the odd error with cd, might be able to repro by clicking the next button down quickly, repeat until it crashes (shouldnt be long), think its fine with non cda tracks as the error was in the cd dll
i even checked in version 2.3.0.2 and same thing happens (version packed with Xion is 2.3.0.1), think 2.3.0.2 is the latest(was from a little while ago)

i'll add a extra skin snap to my new one, are both snap points remembered tho if you put in an extra one? so bounding rectangle snap point and also an extra one
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 22nd, 2007, 11:50 pm

SLoB Wrote:N1 Cliff
Fix the skin bounding rectangle calculation so that it correctly creates the bounding rectangle for a skin when a skin changes

i was going to ask about that at some point as when u do change a skin it doesnt automagically snap itself if the changed skin happens to overlap the viewport

still getting the odd error with cd, might be able to repro by clicking the next button down quickly, repeat until it crashes (shouldnt be long), think its fine with non cda tracks as the error was in the cd dll
i even checked in version 2.3.0.2 and same thing happens (version packed with Xion is 2.3.0.1), think 2.3.0.2 is the latest(was from a little while ago)


Hmm ok, I will have a look at reproducing this soon. Will be away from the computer for the weekend so will look at it next week ;)

SLoB Wrote:i'll add a extra skin snap to my new one, are both snap points remembered tho if you put in an extra one? so bounding rectangle snap point and also an extra one


Not sure I follow? The snap rectangles are exclusive, Xion will only use one at a time, the first visible one that it finds. You will have to hide/show them if you want more than one.

If you hide the one you have custom made, it will revert back to Xion performing it for you. Hope that helps.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » March 23rd, 2007, 12:02 am

the snap thing aint working too well imo

i like that it can snap to diff points but here is what is happening on my l8est skin for example

this is without any new snaprectangle layers
i accept that the snap area is bigger as i have a hidden panel, now when the panel is hidden the snap point changes to the main skin area, great, however when you goto open the panel the panel is getting cut off (due to the new bounding rectangle), it eventually redraws the whole panel after a short moment, but it is also possible it doesnt if you drag the skin around and also possible that it doesnt redraw the bottom part of the panel either which leaves you with a cut off panel but yet still uses the larger snaprectangle/bounding area

adding a snaprectangle layer in has the same effect as above, its still possible to have some of it cut off and its a noticeable cut off

also if a skin is already at the bottom right of the screen and the bounding area is snapped to the corner and then the skin is changed, the new skin still overlaps the screen and doesnt snap back to the bottom right for its own bounding area (although i think this might be a future feature request? ;))
the just above behaviour happens in other media players too, its only if you add code to fix that then the autosnapping works on a container when changing skins

same thing is happening for the other Kevs drawer on overdriveII :(
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby KEV-O » March 23rd, 2007, 2:51 am

Turn the volume slider all the way down, and let a song play through. When it changes to the next song, the volume automatically goes up to 100% even though the slider remains at 0%.
User avatar
KEV-O
Xion Admirer
 
Posts: 246
Joined: October 15th, 2006, 12:47 pm
Location: Kokomo, Indiana

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 23rd, 2007, 6:17 am

SLoB Wrote:this is without any new snaprectangle layers
i accept that the snap area is bigger as i have a hidden panel, now when the panel is hidden the snap point changes to the main skin area, great, however when you goto open the panel the panel is getting cut off (due to the new bounding rectangle), it eventually redraws the whole panel after a short moment, but it is also possible it doesnt if you drag the skin around and also possible that it doesnt redraw the bottom part of the panel either which leaves you with a cut off panel but yet still uses the larger snaprectangle/bounding area


Ahhh, yes that's a bug :D Will fix it for the next build, thanks! ;)

Cliff )
Last edited by Cliff Cawley on March 23rd, 2007, 6:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 23rd, 2007, 6:18 am

KEV-O Wrote:Turn the volume slider all the way down, and let a song play through. When it changes to the next song, the volume automatically goes up to 100% even though the slider remains at 0%.


Hmm I just tried this and couldn't reproduce? Perhaps its the song type? What type of files are you playing?

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » March 23rd, 2007, 9:44 am

its happening on mp3s (probably other formats too)

towards the end of a song for example, slide the volume down to 0%(actual vol & slider go down to 0%)
wait for the track to change to the next and the actual volume goes back to 100%(but not the volume slider)
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 23rd, 2007, 3:38 pm

SLoB Wrote:its happening on mp3s (probably other formats too)

towards the end of a song for example, slide the volume down to 0%(actual vol & slider go down to 0%)
wait for the track to change to the next and the actual volume goes back to 100%(but not the volume slider)


Ahh, reproduced it. If you change the volume after its pre-cached the next song, it doesn't get the new volume correctly :)

Will fix for next build ;)

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 26th, 2007, 7:57 pm

Ok, I think I've fixed all the reported bugs (thanks SLoB and KEV-O!)

I'm going to test the build some more, fix anything I find, then release another Beta Build soon. Hopefully it will be ready to go after that!

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » March 26th, 2007, 10:33 pm

cool :)

Cliff
xion currently supports now playing (track) in msn, are ther any plans to add that into any of the other ims, possible future request or?
googletalk, icq, trillian etc... for example

an idea
perhaps now that the next Xion release will have covered a lot of things in the last 6 months the future releases set to 3 monthly intervals?
would mean less request/bugfix/fix content but given that a lot of stuff has been added/fixed a lot can still be done with 1.59 skins
also skinners utilising the latest features get their skins released on a regular basis to co-incide with the latest version
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby Arch Angel » March 27th, 2007, 8:23 am

Is it me or is there a new beta version out every few days? Anyways, I love this beta version.

I just recently noticed a problem. Some of my songs show up as No Artist / No Name (something like that). That was after I installed the Beta. Before the Beta there were no issues.
Arch Angel
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 14th, 2007, 9:26 am

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 27th, 2007, 10:00 am

SLoB Wrote:cool :)

Cliff
xion currently supports now playing (track) in msn, are ther any plans to add that into any of the other ims, possible future request or?
googletalk, icq, trillian etc... for example


Depends if the IM supports 'now playing'. At one point I added it to googletalk, but they don't support it properly and everytime I set it, it would take the focus away from the current app and place it on googletalk. I ended up removing support and just left it for MSN.

SLoB Wrote:an idea
perhaps now that the next Xion release will have covered a lot of things in the last 6 months the future releases set to 3 monthly intervals?
would mean less request/bugfix/fix content but given that a lot of stuff has been added/fixed a lot can still be done with 1.59 skins
also skinners utilising the latest features get their skins released on a regular basis to co-incide with the latest version


True, next time I can schedule public releases to be more often, its just that this time there have been so many things that I wanted to add, that it kept blowing the release out.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » March 27th, 2007, 10:01 am

Arch Angel Wrote:Is it me or is there a new beta version out every few days? Anyways, I love this beta version.


Yes, that's correct, I'm hoping to do a public release soon, hence the bug fixes/quick releases :)

Arch Angel Wrote:I just recently noticed a problem. Some of my songs show up as No Artist / No Name (something like that). That was after I installed the Beta. Before the Beta there were no issues.


That's from the new tag information string. The previous version would have shown just the filename. I will look into switching it back to a similar functionality before public release.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Return to Beta Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 1 guest