Xion Audio Player

Xion 1.0 build 115 Beta Release

Beta Builds of Xion. These are builds that are not quite ready for Release, but need feedback and bug submissions in order to move it to Release Status

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 3rd, 2009, 10:26 am

xonenine Wrote:As strange as it sounds, I'm getting the most contrasting vis layers w/ blur and zoomer on, and the least contrast w/ them off...xonenine :) I shouldn't say it blurs. The vis starts at full contrast, then fades...

this is the most contrast I can achieve...
*snip*


Hi xonenine,

I can see what you're trying to do here, but might I suggest you don't overlap or create so many visualisation layers?

The reason being, it may look kind of okay for the oscilliscope and the spectrum analyser but as soon as I release any 3d plugins you will no longer be able to clearly make out the visualisation. And especially not if the visualisation displays text such as the song name or lyrics.

I've been thinking about allowing some more ways to build custom visualisation without coding though, so that you can just use animations that respond to the FFT data. It would be similar to the Bass, Mid, Treble, just more ranges. I'll look into this after the next public release though.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby xonenine » May 3rd, 2009, 10:30 am

Sure Cliff, it's just a kind of temporary fix for me, and I'll work w/ phasing them out... :)

Edit: the sd card is one layer each now, and succeesive skins will be too. I'm sure this leaves untold variations possible in other ways.
Last edited by xonenine on May 3rd, 2009, 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
xonenine
Xion Freak
 
Posts: 873
Joined: February 8th, 2008, 1:29 pm
Location: NY

Postby djinn2 » May 3rd, 2009, 10:33 am

If the vis is set to change colour in the config is it supposed to do so when Xion is paused? I don't mind if it does but was just curious.
djinn2
Xion Admirer
 
Posts: 203
Joined: October 4th, 2006, 11:47 am
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 3rd, 2009, 1:28 pm

djinn2 Wrote:If the vis is set to change colour in the config is it supposed to do so when Xion is paused? I don't mind if it does but was just curious.


Hmm I never really thought about it! I'll make it pause the colours if you're stopped/paused, thanks!

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 3rd, 2009, 1:45 pm

Ok, just an update, I've fixed all issues raised in here so far, for build 116!

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby SLoB » May 4th, 2009, 12:55 am

OOOoooo.... :)
Looking forward to a new build, need to pick one of my skin ideas up again asap, missing out on all the fun heheh

Keep up the good work Cliff :)
User avatar
SLoB
Xion Junkie
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: September 11th, 2006, 9:21 pm
Location: UK

Postby dragoon » May 4th, 2009, 4:11 am

Image

When I change my skin this seems to happen. I uninstalled and reinstalled and it was fixed, but when I redownloaded and changed the skin.. it happened.

I don't really have an explanation for this one, haha. The playlist is the problem, if you didn't notice it!

It keeps getting better and better, I can't wait until everyone has a chance to use the final release, I'm telling all my friends!
dragoon
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 40
Joined: July 12th, 2008, 12:14 pm

Postby djinn2 » May 4th, 2009, 4:50 am

When snapping the main window to the playlist its possible to snap them together on the inside edges. This means its possible to hide the playlist behind the main window while they're snapped together.
djinn2
Xion Admirer
 
Posts: 203
Joined: October 4th, 2006, 11:47 am
Location: UK

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 4th, 2009, 9:19 am

dragoon Wrote:Image

When I change my skin this seems to happen. I uninstalled and reinstalled and it was fixed, but when I redownloaded and changed the skin.. it happened.

I don't really have an explanation for this one, haha. The playlist is the problem, if you didn't notice it!

It keeps getting better and better, I can't wait until everyone has a chance to use the final release, I'm telling all my friends!


I'm trying to reproduce this, but coming up blank. Do you leave the playlist open when you attempt to install the new skin? As soon as you install the new skin is that when you see the problems, or do you have to close Xion first and restart it? If you select the playlist and hit F5 to refresh the skin, does it fix it or does it stay that way?

Any help to reproduce this would be great.

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 4th, 2009, 9:20 am

djinn2 Wrote:When snapping the main window to the playlist its possible to snap them together on the inside edges. This means its possible to hide the playlist behind the main window while they're snapped together.


Ah thanks, I thought I was doing something similar to other players, but it seems that while they allow the snapping, they don't allow you to move both windows if its snapped on the inside. Thanks!

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby dragoon » May 4th, 2009, 9:31 am

Pressing F5 does fix the skin, until I load a new one.

As of now, it shows messed up every time I change my skin.

What I do know:
Changing to different skins within a skin (ie, the default) like mini versions/compact versions does not break the playlist.

Ah! I found it.
You have to dock the playlist with the main window. While it's docked, try to change the skin.

Breaks everytime for me!

Sorry for the lack of info first time,
cheers!

edit:
It doesn't seem to work with smaller skins, like "Aero Player". I used Ebonite and Wraith Xion Skin as test skins, and the default one.
dragoon
Xion Supporter
 
Posts: 40
Joined: July 12th, 2008, 12:14 pm

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 4th, 2009, 1:01 pm

Lance Wrote:Another small suggestion Cliff. Something that's bugged me for some time is when I have the playlist (or other windows) snapped to the main player, and I minimize Xion, all of the snapped windows stay open. I don't mind this when they're not snapped but could you hide all snapped windows on minimize too? Once that is implemented, snapped component based skins will start to become popular with Xion. Yayyy. Of course though, we just need a skinnable EQ to seal the deal :lol:

Peace, Lance


I have a question about this. If I hide all of the windows, then you will have to manually show them all in the right click menu, if you don't have the Taskbar button visible. Its fine if you have the Taskbar button visible. In fact you can do this already, just right click the Taskbar button and choose Minimize.

What do you suggest then for if you don't use the Taskbar button?

Oh and did you get my email?

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Postby Lance » May 4th, 2009, 7:17 pm

Cliff Cawley Wrote:
Lance Wrote:Another small suggestion Cliff. Something that's bugged me for some time is when I have the playlist (or other windows) snapped to the main player, and I minimize Xion, all of the snapped windows stay open. I don't mind this when they're not snapped but could you hide all snapped windows on minimize too? Once that is implemented, snapped component based skins will start to become popular with Xion. Yayyy. Of course though, we just need a skinnable EQ to seal the deal :lol:

Peace, Lance


I have a question about this. If I hide all of the windows, then you will have to manually show them all in the right click menu, if you don't have the Taskbar button visible. Its fine if you have the Taskbar button visible. In fact you can do this already, just right click the Taskbar button and choose Minimize.

What do you suggest then for if you don't use the Taskbar button?

Oh and did you get my email?

Cliff :)


I use alt+num5. So basically, I'd like it to work with the "Show Xion" from tray icon menu. The minimize on the taskbar icon works fine, hides it all, but not the tray. I guess the tray menu is just to the same as the player rightclick menu too so in essence, "Show Xion" should hide/show all windows not just the main, but only if they're snapped to the player.

The idea for this is basically so you have the option to show things seperately or as a whole. All that determines it is whether they're snapped or not.

EDIT: Yeah I got the email dude. Just be patient a little longer as I've had to change a few things :) I'll get it to you as soon as I can.

Peace, Lance
I made the Xion Default skin. Ask me questions and stuff.

DeviantArt
User avatar
Lance
Xion Fan
 
Posts: 402
Joined: April 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, England

Postby logokas » May 4th, 2009, 7:52 pm

I second Lance's idea. Minimize everything that's snapped to the main player that's not already hidden, when doing the hide Xion command via the tray menu or hotkey. I think that's how Winamp does it.

By the way, wasn't there a Mute option in the right click menu? Where'd it go?
I shoot and ask questions later.

Take no offense of it.
User avatar
logokas
Xion Addict
 
Posts: 668
Joined: February 25th, 2008, 8:44 am
Location: Estonia

Postby Cliff Cawley » May 4th, 2009, 11:23 pm

logokas Wrote:I second Lance's idea. Minimize everything that's snapped to the main player that's not already hidden, when doing the hide Xion command via the tray menu or hotkey. I think that's how Winamp does it.


No, that's not how Winamp does it. Winamp does it the same as Xion. I should probably rename 'Show Xion' to 'Show Main Window'.

The only thing Winamp does different is that if you click Minimize, it will hide everything whether its snapped or not. If you're using just the Tray version then you have to click the tray to restore it. If you right click on Winamp and choose the 'Main Window' option, it will hide just the Main window, even if other windows are snapped to it. (Exactly like Xion)

I'll change how Xion minimizes so that the functionality for the tray is similar to the taskbar icon minimize which should give you what you're after, Lance. I'll also make a new Global shortcut for Minimize/Restore.

logokas Wrote:By the way, wasn't there a Mute option in the right click menu? Where'd it go?


I don't think so. I can't find it in code anywhere either. Perhaps that's a feature request :)

Cliff :)
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
r2 Studios
http://www.r2.com.au
http://xion.r2.com.au
User avatar
Cliff Cawley
Creator of Xion
 
Posts: 1955
Joined: September 3rd, 2006, 11:33 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Beta Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron