Xion Audio Player

Beat interaction

Feature Requests and Ideas

Postby HyperCannon » November 8th, 2009, 1:24 pm

I was wondering if it would be possible to add tempo functionality to Xion. Not by a automatic song tempo detector (unless it can be done), but by reading the songs info about beats per minute.
Most people can figure out the tempo of a song using a digital counter and tapping/counting in their heads, then add that into the info. Also some songs that were made with programs like FL Studio will come with the info.
It could be used the best in animations. The tempo can determine the speed of the frames so that its right on the beat.
Also it could be made so if there is no info on a song then the tempo rule is ignored on an animation but doesnt stop it from running normally.
It could also be made a text property.
Personally, I would use this alot as I am a audiophile and musician and I like having things that move with the beat to the music :P
HyperCannon
Xion Supporter

Postby logokas » November 8th, 2009, 6:51 pm

Technically the beat itself is audible via bass level frequencies, so all you have to do, is create an animation that's tied to the bass frequency meter, and you get a somewhat accurate beat indicator.
I shoot and ask questions later.

Take no offense of it.
logokas
Xion Addict

Postby HyperCannon » November 9th, 2009, 3:35 pm

I know that, but that only gives an indication of how loud the bass is.
Something that can make an animation go as normal, but the speed set by the tempo, is different to an animation where the frames tell you the volume.
HyperCannon
Xion Supporter

Postby logokas » November 9th, 2009, 9:01 pm

True. I never said it was completely accurate.